Where does EE create the server block files for additional domains?

I successfully created my initial website using EE, then created a second site on the same Digital Ocean droplet, using the same EE command (sudo ee site create example.com --wp). Everything seemed fine - after pointing the DNS I am able to access both sites fine. However, now nginx reboot attempts fail.

$ sudo nginx -t && service nginx rel
nginx: [emerg] duplicate location "/" in /etc/nginx/common/php.conf:3
nginx: configuration file /etc/nginx/nginx.conf test failed

I’m not familiar enough with EE to know exactly what it handles, but I do notice that while both website 1 and 2 are in /etc/nginx/sites-available/ the default server block file is as well. And if I view the second sever block file, it’s empty. Do I need to manually remove default, and set website 1 or 2 as the default server or does EE handle this differently?

Any additional assistance or direction is much appreciated. Thank you!