Style.css in parent theme / child theme (file size / repeated statements)

Hi,

I’m quite new to rtPanel, so sorry in advance for asking any stupid questions.

I’ve downloaded rtPanel theme and the rtPanel child theme. There’s a few things I noticed and have questions on:

1. I noticed that rtPanel child theme also functions complete without rtPanel theme, so it is not really a child theme in the WP sense, is it?

2. The file size of style.css generated by rtPanel child theme is about 355KB, i.e. more than twice as large as the file size of style.css of rtPanel theme (165KB). Why is that?

3. When I look at the generated styles with the Web developer toolbars of the FF, Chrome or IE, I notice that for each element the list is endlessly long with many many repeated statements of

*, *:before, *:after { -webkit-box-sizing: border-box; -moz-box-sizing: border-box; box-sizing: border-box; } as well as

html, body {font-size: 100%;} Why is that?

Thanks in advance for your support!

René

Hello rene,

Following are the answers of your questions.

1. rtPanel child theme contains assets folder as it is from parent theme, Since we are using grunt, sass and foundation you can easily overwrite CSS variables in child theme. So no need of parent theme styles here. Also we have include more files in ‘lib’ folder which contains example of slider, theme options page, taxonomies, custom post types etc. This makes developers life easy.

2. About child theme style.css: Yes it was large sized because of some issue of foundation with sass. It is corrected now. Thank you for noticing and mentioned here.

3. Some CSS components repeated many time because of some issues with sass and foundation. But its fixed now.

I really appreciate your efforts and notify above issues.

You can download latest copy of rtPanel child theme from here https://github.com/rtcamp/rtpanel-child-theme

Feel free to let us know if you found any other issues.

Thanks

Hello Sagar,