Server so slow

I’ve using easyengine with wordpress since a couple of years without any issues. I am not an expert so I pretty much use the default configuration. Since a couple of months I am experiencing serious performances issues so I begun to investigate.

The vps has 8 GB memory and ssd disk. It hosts 4 sites with minimum traffic and with mostly static content.

htop informs high cpu usages most of the time for the processes php-fpm See the image:

I’ve tried to tweak www.conf and reduced the pm.max_children to 40 from 200 and the situation improved a litlle but again the server is slow and pages are loading slowly, even with memcache.

/etc/php/5.6/fpm/pool.d/www.conf is as follows

user = www-data group = www-data listen = 127.0.0.1:9000 listen.owner = www-data listen.group = www-data pm = ondemand pm.max_children = 40 pm.start_servers = 20 pm.min_spare_servers = 10 pm.max_spare_servers = 30 pm.process_idle_timeout = 10s ping.path = /ping pm.status_path = /status pm.max_requests = 200 request_terminate_timeout = 300s

/etc/php/5.6/fpm/php-fpm.conf is as follows

[global] pid = /run/php/php5.6-fpm.pid error_log = /var/log/php/5.6/fpm.log log_level = notice include = /etc/php/5.6/fpm/pool.d/*.conf

/etc/php/5.6/fpm/php.ini is as follow