Secure File Transfer AWS EC2

Hello,

I am using amazon aws EC2 with Ubuntu but I am not able to Connect to Filezilla using sftp with username www-data it is giving me some error of

Error Disconnected: No supported authentication methods available (server sent: publickey) Error: Could not connect to server

Please Help me in this as I am new to easy engine.

Regards,
Rahul Sadarangani

You need to connect with user / key from amazon (usually ubuntu) OR you need to add ssh / keys to www-data user.

No It Did not work out I tried getting same error

You probably are trying to load the key in the wrong format. Depending on vs of filezilla it can convert for you, but generally it is best to make sure you have a .ppk first and use pageant to service the key to filezilla.

http://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/putty.html

so:

1. Make sure you convert your EC2 key to ppk using PuttyGen
  2. Make sure you launch pageant and load your ppk version of the key converted in step 1
  3. Launch Filezilla
  4. sftp://example.com

This is nice because you don’t have to somewhat unsafely store the keys in filezilla. PuttyGen even allows you to password protect the keys so password is required before pageant will load them.

This assumes you have SSH working for ubuntu user; if you don’t you need to configure SSH for ubuntu first.

After you verify default ubuntu user, you can setup your SSH keys for other users and convert them to ppk if you need to. You’ll need to make sure the other accounts are setup for SSH on the ubuntu/linux side of things. Your default ubuntu user account should already allows ssh – we setup our EC2s for SSH only, no password logins so in FTP / etc we need only key NO password. You can search on how to do this.

– All of this assumes you are on windows. If you are on unix or osx just skip filezilla and/or putty altogether and command line it using OpenSSH vs of the EC2 key - although you can use filezilla I suppose with keychain.

Hello,