Caching issue with Redis and HHVM

Hello everyone, I’m having an issue with the caching of my website and I’m not sure where to begin. I have a very busy wordpress website on Digital Ocean with easyengine (redis + hhvm). I recently changed from php-fpm with fastcgi and w3 super cache, and the difference is incredible. I have the Nginx Helper and Redis plugin installed and activated properly on wordpress. When we post any new content, it takes a few hours (not sure the exact time yet) for a regular user to see the post on the front page (even if he/she clears all browser cache). The direct link to the post works ok.

If logged in, an admin or editor user can see the post on the front page just fine (as expected). Of course, if I purge the cache on the wordpress admin, the new post appears immediately on the front page for everyone. Like I said, I’m new to Redis and EasyEngine and I’m not sure where to begin to look for a fix for this small issue. Previously, I had W3 Super Cache which I believe cleared the cache every time a new post was published. Thank you in advance for any help!

2 Likes

I’d love some extra info on this from what I’m reading, I use your former setup. PHP-fpm, FastCGI and w3tc.

I thought about going over to varnish, but I’ve not quite understood this hhvm thingi.

hopefully, someone will answer you sooner rather than later :smile:

I have the same issue, using nginx helper plugin and redis cache. Setup nginx helper like it is supposed to be set up according to the installation guide here. The front-page will NEVER purge unless you clear the browser cache in firefox, chrome etc.

This is a big issue.

How are users supposed to know there is new content if the front-page is not showing the new posts automatically?

Zero support and feedback.

Why don’t you try the paid support?

Fortunately I never had any issue that I was not able to fix with help of community, but if someday I have one, I’ll certainly pay for specialized support.

2 Likes

Why?